Skip to content

Reporting Contest

2011 Contest

Like the status of our 2011 conference, our 2011 contest is also undecided at present. We’ll update here as soon as there’s a board decision on it.

Winners: 2007 2008 |   2009

The 2010 Contest

The 2010 contest period is from  May 2, 2009 through May 1, 2010.  For the college contest, the entry period is from Sept. 11, 2009 through June 1, 2010.  DEADLINE EXTENDED: POSTMARK DEADLINE IS NOW AUG. 12



The Contest: Capitolbeat, the Association of Capitol Reporters and Editors (ACRE) honors the best State House reporting in print, broadcast and online media with its annual Excellence Awards. Capitolbeat also grants one special award, the John Aubuchon Freedom of Information Award, which covers all media. Read the story about last year’s awards.

The John Aubuchon Freedom of Information Award

Named after one of the founders of Capitolbeat, this award recognizes extraordinary examples of persistence by journalists in obtaining access to documents and meetings that are critical for public understanding of state government issues.

The award can be given for a single report or a series of reports based upon information made available as the result of the media outlet’s commitment to public disclosure and refusal to be dissuaded or intimidated by elected or appointed officials.

All media compete together in this category.

Criteria for judging include the duration, financial commitment – especially relative to financial ability – and innovation of the effort to achieve access, the precedent-setting nature of the achievement, the importance of the revealed information and, as a tie-breaking element, the quality of the reporting.

All entries should include a cover letter explaining the circumstances and chronology of the effort to achieve access, along with any letters of reference documenting community or individual appreciation for the media organization’s actions.

Excellence in State House Reporting Awards

Capitolbeat recognizes four categories of reporting:

Beat Reporting: This award recognizes a body of work. Submit at least five but no more than eight samples of work on a state capitol news beat.

Single Report: Submit one story of public interest news, breaking news or feature news relating to state government.

In-depth Reporting: Submit samples of work or a series of stories that spotlight a single problem of public interest related to state government. Entry may be a single article or series. Limit series entries to those printed or broadcast on no more than five publication/broadcast dates.

Columns/Commentary/News Analysis: Submit four samples of work.

Awards will be granted in the following categories:

*       Wire services and daily newspapers with a weekday circulation 75,000 and over
*       Daily newspapers with a weekday circulation under 75,000 and weeklies
*       Magazines
*       Radio
*       Television market size 1 to 50
*       Television market size 51 to 210
*       Online

Questions? Please contact Contest Chair Kathleen Haughney at

%d bloggers like this: