Skip to content

2010 Capitolbeat Reporting Contest

Click here to download entry form for 2009 Capitolbeat reporting contest. (Note, the 2009 contest is over, but this entry form won’t change a whole lot when we call for entries in the 2010 contest.) The 2009 contest period was Aug. 1, 2008 through May 1, 2009. Entries broadcast or published after May 1, 2009 will be eligible in the 2010 contest. We have not yet set a “published or broadcast by” date.

What: Capitolbeat, the Association of Capitol Reporters and Editors (ACRE) honors the best State House reporting in print, broadcast and online media with its annual Excellence Awards. Capitolbeat also grants one special award, the John Aubuchon Freedom of Information Award, which covers all media.

The John Aubuchon Freedom of Information Award

Named after one of the founders of Capitolbeat, this award recognizes extraordinary examples of persistence by journalists in obtaining access to documents and meetings that are critical for public understanding of state government issues.

The award can be given for a single report or a series of reports based upon information made available as the result of the media outlet’s commitment to public disclosure and refusal to be dissuaded or intimidated by elected or appointed officials.

All media compete together in this category.

Criteria for judging include the duration, financial commitment – especially relative to financial ability – and innovation of the effort to achieve access, the precedent-setting nature of the achievement, the importance of the revealed information and, as a tie-breaking element, the quality of the reporting.

All entries should include a cover letter explaining the circumstances and chronology of the effort to achieve access, along with any letters of reference documenting community or individual appreciation for the media organization’s actions.

Excellence in State House Reporting Awards

Capitolbeat recognizes four categories of reporting:

Beat Reporting: This award recognizes a body of work. Submit at least five but no more than eight samples of work on a state capitol news beat.

Single Report: Submit one story of public interest news, breaking news or feature news relating to state government.

In-depth Reporting: Submit samples of work or a series of stories that spotlight a single problem of public interest related to state government. Entry may be a single article or series. Limit series entries to those printed or broadcast on no more than five publication/broadcast dates.

Columns/Commentary/News Analysis: Submit four samples of work.

Awards will be granted in the following categories:

*       Wire services and daily newspapers with a weekday circulation 75,000 and over
*       Daily newspapers with a weekday circulation under 75,000 and weeklies
*       Magazines
*       Radio
*       Television market size 1 to 50
*       Television market size 51 to 210
*       Online

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2009 6:46 pm

    I was wondering how much it costs to submit entries for your annual capitol awards. I tried to click through to the 2009 application form, but it says item not available. Is it free to those who are members?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: